Print Page

Carbon math students top the state in number of awards received

Sally Mauro Elementary math winners and teachers include Mrs. Fossat, sixth grade; Mrs. Rudman, sixth grade; Mrs.Tatton, fifth grade; Mrs. Barker, fifth grade; Mrs. Oliver, fourth grade; Mrs. Railsback, elementary math specialist. The state winners were Georgie Zamantakis, Julian Tamllos, Andrea Hyer and Garrett Marsing. Honorable mentions included Dustin Konakis, Sean Draper, Braidy Mills, Conover Smith, Christian Auger, Cassandra Cook, Jared Byrge, Chris Howell, Nick Haycock, Tash Zmuda, Jennee Martinez, Chase Pryor, Kody Henrie, and Deidra Wilstead.

The Utah Council of Teachers of Mathematics (UCTM) sponsored a state math contest called Utah Largest Math Event (ULME).

The elementary had a different math problem, for each grade band: first and second, third and fourth, and fifth and sixth.

With the support of Kathy Railsback, Carbon School District Elementary Math Specialist, students throughout the district participated in this statewide event.

Castle Heights Elementary math winners and teachers include Mrs. Railsback, elementary math specialist; Mrs.Tamllos, second grade; Mrs. Bell, second grade. The state winner was Sara May. Honorable mentions from the school included Ethan Hussey, Robert Blackham, Asa DeGroff, and Taylor Cary.

Twelve individual awards were given statewide, two per grade level.

Students in the Carbon School District did very well. Among the 12 statewide winners, five were awarded to elementary students in the Carbon School District. Carbon School District also had 18 elementary honorable mentions.

Print Page