Print Page

Price appoints members to fill vacant seats on city's planning, zoning board

Sun Advocate reporter

Price officials accepted the resignation of John Angotti from the city's planning and zoning commission on Wednesday during the regularly scheduled council meeting.

The board chairman's resignation was announced during the planning and zoning meeting on June 20 by Mayor Joe Piccolo.

The Price mayor asked the members to suggest a chairman and an additional candidate to fill the empty position created by Angotti's resignation.

Piccolo asked the board to submit the names of possible candidates in time for the matter to be decided upon before the commission meeting on July 11.

The planning and zoning board members voted to appoint Larry Bruno as the new chairman. Bruno served as the vice chairman before being selected to fill the vacant position on Wednesday.

The vice chairman position was given to former board member Gary Lyon. Ed Shook was appointed to fill the vacant commission seat. Alfred Richens was also reappointed to a six-year term on the board.

In an unrelated matter, the Price youth council was sworn in during the city's July 22 public meeting.

Anna Gramlich, Andy Olsen, Seth Burgess and Vanessa Smith were all in attendance for the swearing in ceremony conducted during Wednesday's Price City Council meeting.

Smith will fill the mayor's while Gramlich and Olsen are board members on the youth city council.

What position Burgess will occupy on the youth council was not decided.

If he is still Price's mayor, Piccolo invited the youth to accompany him to the local elected officials day at the Utah Capitol in January.

Members of the youth group worked with Price City Council to help with International Days preparations.

The council members also made an appearance during the parade down Main Street on Saturday morning for International Days.

Also discussed during the meeting was awarding of the city's visionary service leader award to recipients Riata Ganino and Kellie Criswell.

Ganino and Criswell shared the award for their excellence in helping with the improvements on sidewalks around the community.

The improved sidewalks have allowed wheelchair and scooter users to travel easier and more safely around Price.

Print Page