Print Page

Emery Telcom awards grads with scholarships

Emery Telcom is giving a total of $11,000 in scholarship money to help local high school graduates pursue higher education.

This past week, the local telecommunications provider announced at various schools, the winners of the $1,000 tuition/books college scholarship awards. The recipients include Alexis Avery of Helper; Jana Burrows of Price; Janet Lowe of East Carbon; Savannah Black of Green River; Casey Murray of Castle Dale; Amber Brasher of Cleveland; Westin Kash Winn of Ferron; Doralie Wright from Orangeville; Mandi Weihing of Huntington; and Dereck Del Brotherson of Elmo.

Emery Telcom also presented Whitni Erickson, who represents the at-large community, a scholarship award.

"We look forward to this event every year," said Greg Killpack, CEO and general manager. "It's an opportunity to recognize the youth for their hard work, and lend a helping hand to those who endeavor to earn a college degree."

In addition, Emery Telcom helped Jerica Jensen capture a $1,000 scholarship from the Foundation for Rural Education and Development (FRED). FRED is the philanthropic arm of OPASTCO, a national organization of which Emery Telcom is a member.

The scholarship awards account for less than half of the money Emery Telcom donates every year to education initiatives.

Emery Telcom is one of Utah's leading and fastest growing providers of telecommunication services. Based in Orangeville, Emery Telcom was formed as a cooperative in 1950 and has since earned industry-wide recognition for its excellence. The telecommunications company serves thousands of local telephone customers in Hanksville and throughout communities in Carbon and Emery counties. In addition, the company provides Internet access and advanced telecommunication services such as Caller ID and Voice Mail. Through its subsidiary companies, Emery Telcom offers long-distance service, DSL high-speed digital Internet connection, web design and hosting and 24-hour call center operations.

Print Page