Print Page

Five vie for Miss Carbon County title

This Saturday, Aug. 7, a new Miss Carbon County will be crowned.

Five contenstants are vying for the honor, including Brianne Pinedo, Niki Potts, Krystle Noyes, Heather Peterson and Kim Jenks. The winners receive tuition waivers to the College of Eastern Utah and a cash scholarship of $400 to be used towards their education.

Mary Frandsen, the reigning Miss Carbon County will crown the new Miss Carbon County. The pageant begins at 7:00 p.m. at the Price Civic Auditorium.

Since being crowned last year, Frandsen has been serving Carbon County through hours of community service, through the Sun Center at CEU, with Price City and school libraries. Her platform has been "leading the way by reading today" a program to promote literacy. She has designed and published an ABC book, provides books for hundreds of Carbon County children and promoted good reading skills.

The Miss Carbon County and Miss Utah Scholarship Pageants are part of the Miss America franchise, and are non-profit organizations existing solely to provide personal and professional opportunities for young women and to promote their voices in culture, politics and the community. The organization is one of the leading achievement programs and the largest competitive scholarship program for young women in the world.

The Miss America Organization founded the platform concept, which requires each contestant to choose an issue about which she cares deeply and that is of relevance to our society.

Miss Carbon County titleholders have generated awareness for countless of causes over the years, ranging from childhood safety to domestic violence, literacy and eating disorders.

Lori Prince has been our local director since 1998 and has tried to make the Miss Carbon County scholarship pageant a rewarding experience for all who compete, not just the titleholders. Price says, "This year promises to be an outstanding pageant, with many of our previous titleholders returning to the community to help with the pageant. Our theme this year is "remember when."

Print Page