Print Page

College bound students receive scholarships

Local students and their parents are finding relief from rising college tuition costs through Emery Telcom scholarship awards.

The company gave $1,000 scholarships to 11 college-bound students from Emery and Carbon Counties.

"Not only are these families our customers, they are our neighbors whose children look to education as a means to improve life," said Paul Crawford, president of the Emery Telcom board of directors.

"We want to help families in rural communities ease their financial burdens from ever-increasing tuition rates."

The tuition scholarships were awarded to the following students: Erin Anselmo from Elmo, Heather Hansen from Cleveland, Cierra Jones from Huntington, Kerri Rogers from Castle Dale, Tatia McNee from Orangeville, Amber Nielson from Ferron, Shalane McArther from Emery, and Jared Johnson from Green River.

And for the second year, Emery Telcom awarded scholarship money to Carbon County students including Raelyn Peak from East Carbon High School, and Bonnie Blackburn and Savannah Wilson from Carbon High School.

Print Page