Print Page

Municipal candidate races begin

By Sun Advocate staff

After eight years in office, East Carbon City Mayor Orlando LaFontaine will not seek re-election this November, turning the office over to one of three new candidates. Seeking the four year mayoral seat in 2014 will be Barbara Fisher and Cecil Dees along with current city council member Barbara Robinett.

East Carbon residents will also be voting for two council positions this year. The seats currently occupied by Cheryl McFarland and Darrell Valdez are up for election and while McFarland has decided not to run, Valdez will be seeking another term. Additional candidates include Junior Patrick Adelbai, Phillip Holt, Kris Kohler, Guy (Korky) Koss and Carla Young.

In Wellington, Mayor Ben Blackburn has filed for re-election. He is being opposed by Joan Powell, a retired UPS employee. There are two for two council seats. Incumbent council member Kirt Tatton will run for re-election and Terry Sanslow is running for the other seat.

Ed Chavez, who was appointed mayor by the Helper City Council earlier this year, is running for election to hold onto the position. He will be opposed by Matt Montoya. There are four candidates for city council running for two seats. Incumbents Gary Harwood and Chris Pugliese are running for re-election and Walter Borla and Donald Mortensen have also filed.

In Sunnyside, incumbent Mayor Doug Parsons will seek re-election against Tracy L. Stratton. Town residents will also be voting for multiple four year council terms in November as the seats occupied by Nola Porter and Tony Riffle are up for election. Both Porter and Riffle are running along with Cindy Jensen and Steve Jensen. Earlier this year, council member Kelly Maynes vacated his seat and was replaced by former town mayor Bruce Andrews. As there are two years remaining on the term, it will also come up for election in November. The seat will be sought by Andrews, Harold Hornbeck and Tom Jones.

In Price, current Mayor Joe Piccolo is running unopposed for another term. This is the second consecutive election period where he has run unopposed.

Two council member seats will be open as current council member Kathy Hanna-Smith will be running for reelection. Two others candidates including Miles Nelson and James Jewkes have added their names to the race for the open seats. Other than Hanna-Smith, current council member Grady McEvoy will finish out his term leaving the other open seat on the council.

Print Page