Print Page

Deadline for Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards is January 7

The nomination deadline for the 2012-2013 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Awards is Jan. 7, according to Ken May, general manager of the Sufco Mine.

The teacher awards program is the Arch Coal Foundation's signature education program that honors five outstanding teachers each year in Carbon, Emery, Sanpete and Servier counties in Utah. The program is unique in two ways: It asks the public to nominate outstanding teachers - who must then complete a written application - and a blue-ribbon panel of former award winners judges the applications and determines the recipients. This is the seventh year that the awards are being presented in Utah.

Nomination forms are available online at, in schools and in partner locations, such as AmericanWest Bank locations, and Market Express, TacoTime and Bookcliff Sales in Price. Other partners include the Utah State Office of Education, Utah Education Association, Utah School Superintendents Association, Carbon County School District, Emery County School District, Sevier County School District, North Sanpete School District, South Sanpete School District, and radio stations KOAL, KARB, KRPX, KMTI, KLGL, KMGR, KSVC and KWUT.

Arch sponsors the Teacher Achievement Awards in the four-county area surrounding the Sufco, Dugout Canyon and Skyline mines in Utah operated by Canyon Fuel Company LLC, a subsidiary of Arch Coal, Inc. The Arch Coal Foundation also supports teacher recognition or grants programs in Wyoming, West Virginia and Colorado, as well as a number of other education-related causes.

Print Page