Print Page

Chamber invites voters to 'Meet the Candidates' night

The Carbon County Chamber Of Commerce Board of Directors invites all voters to participate in a "Meet the Candidates" night Sept. 24 at Carbon County Courthouse from 5:30 to 7:10 p.m.

Each session will have candidates for a specific office there to speak and respond to citizens' questions.

Session 1 runs from 5:30 to 5:40 p.m. and is for candidates running for U.S. House of Representatives District 3. In attendance will be Democrat Soren Simonsen. The incumbent, Republican Senator Jason Chaffetz, is unable to join our forum because he is in session in Washington, D.C.

Session 2 runs from 5:40 to 5:50 p.m. and is for Utah State Governor. Only one candidate is joining the forum: Democratic candidate Peter S. Cooke and his running mate for Lt. Gov. Vincent C. Rampton.

Session 3 begins at 5:50 p.m. and runs to 6:00 p.m. for Utah State Senator for District 27. Present will be Democratic candidate Michael Binyon. Incumbent Republican Senator David Hinkins was unable to attend due to a prior commitment; he was disappointed about the conflict in his schedule.

Session 4 runs from 6 to 6:10 p.m. for Utah State Representative for District #69. Incumbent candidate from the Democratic Party, Ms. Christine Watkins, chose to participate.

Session 5 follows at 6:10 and runs to 6:28 p.m. for U.S. Senator. This session finds three candidates in attendance vying for this seat: Constitution Party candidate Shaun McCausland, Justice Party candidate Daniel Geery and representing incumbent candidate Republican Orrin G. Hatch will be someone from his campaign headquarters. Sen. Hatch is also in session in Washington, D.C. at this time.

Session 6 begins at 6:28 and runs to 6:50 p.m. It will feature candidates for Utah State Attorney General. This session is for two candidates: Libertarian candidate Andrew McCullough and Democrat Dee Smith. Incumbent candidate from the Republican Party, John Swallow, also had a conflicting schedule but is sending a representative who will be the foyer to answer questions.

Session 7 starts at 6:50 and runs to 7:06 p.m. It is for Carbon County Commissioner. The candidates running for the open seat include Republican Casey Hopes and Democrat Mikel Johnson. One of them will fill the vacant seat of Commissioner Mike Milovich who decided not to run again.

Session 8 starts at 7:06 p.m. to 7:16 p.m. for Carbon School Board office, District #1. Kristen Taylor is running unopposed.

Session 9 starts at 7:16 p.m. to 7:28 p.m. for Carbon School Board office, District #2. Melanie Fausett and Jaynie Rae Nielsen will participate in this session.

A moderator will ask the candidates to answer the same questions in random order, thereby giving no candidate a "first or last" advantage. Ground rules and time limits will be followed so that every candidate will have ample time and opportunity to respond. Written questions from the public can be submitted that night. Also, at the end of the program, if time allows, candidates may entertain questions from the audience.

The chamber's goal is to introduce the candidates so voters can make an informed decision on Nov.6.

Early voting begins on Oct. 23 through Nov. 2 from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. at the Carbon County Courthouse.

Print Page