Print Page

Today is last day to vote for primary candidates

Ever since April polical campaign signs dotting fence lines and intersections have increased across the county. Once the primary is over their number will decrease a little then increase as the November election nears.

Sun Advocate publisher

While early voting in the primary races has been going on for a couple of weeks, it all culminates today as the final voters go to the polls to figure out who will be running against whom during the November general elections.

Carbon County Democrats needed the primary vote to decide their nominee for the open county commission seat being vacated by long-time Commissioner Mike Milovich. The tally at the Democratic convention at the Fairgrounds Event Center on March 30 showed Dave Smith and Mike Johnson finished first and second in the four-way race, and neither got enough ballots to win out over the other. Their names will be on the ballot today for voters to decide who will go up against Republican Casey Hopes, who garnered more the 60 percent of the delegate votes in balloting at the Helper Auditorium that same night.

No local races will be on the ballot for the Republican primary, but two statewide races will be. The first is between present Senator Orrin Hatch and challenger Dan Liljenquist, who have both forged strong media campaigns in the state. Hatch has served for 36 years in Congress after ousting long-time Democratic Senator Frank Moss from his seat in 1976. Liljenquist is a former State Senator from Bountiful.

In the other Republican statewide race John Swallow, presently an assistant Utah Attorney General, is running against Sean Reyes. This particular race has included a lot of charges between the two candidates and a great deal of out-of-state money coming in for advertising.

The Republican primary is closed, unless the voter is registered as a Republican. The Democratic primary is open to all voters.

Early voting at the Carbon County Courthouse was a big success according to Alexis Horsley, the deputy county clerk. She reported that the first day (June 12) of early voting brought out 45 voters, and on the last day (June 22) there were 118 that cast ballots. She said that 533 citizens voted during the early voting period.

The polls will open at 7 a.m. and close at 8 p.m. To find where to vote for any particular area go to

Print Page