Print Page

George Harmond elected to Utah Judiciary Council

Judge George Harmond

Seventh District Court Judge George Harmond is one of three judges elected to serve a three-year term on the Utah Judicial Council.

The Utah Judicial Council is the policy-making body for the judiciary. The Council has the constitutional authority to adopt uniform rules for the administration of all courts in the state. The Council also sets standards for judicial performance, court facilities, support services, and judicial and non-judicial staff levels.

Utah Supreme Court Chief Justice Christine M. Durham chairs the Council, which consists of 14 members.

Harmond was appointed to the Seventh District Court in December 2005 by Gov. Jon M. Huntsman, Jr. He received his undergraduate degree from the University of Utah, and a law degree in May 1981 from Creighton University School of Law. Harmond was in general private practice from October 1981 until his appointment to the bench. In addition to his private practice, Judge Harmond served as Deputy Carbon County Attorney from 1987 to 2005.

He was appointed to the Utah Board of Water Resources by Governor Michael O. Leavitt in April 2003 and served until December 2005.

Harmond , 4th District Court Judge David Mortensen, and 2nd District Justice Court Judge John Sandberg, who serves the Clinton and Clearfield Justice Courts, have replaced 4th District Court Judge Donald Eyre, 5th District Court Judge Michael Westfall, and Uintah County Justice Court Judge G.A. Petry who completed their terms. In addition, 3rd District Juvenile Court Judge Kimberly K. Hornak has been named as vice chair of the Council.

Print Page