Print Page

Piccolo selected league president

Mayor Joe Piccolo

Joe Piccolo, mayor of Price City was selected president of the Utah League of Cities and Towns at their Annual Business session in September in Salt Lake City. Piccolo, who has been mayor of Price since January, has been an active member of the League for the past seven years.

Members of the Utah League of Cities and Towns elected five new board members and a new second vice president.

Delegates from around the state gathered in Salt Lake to elect Brigham City Mayor, Lou Ann Christensen; Orem City mayor, Jerry Washburn; Park City council member, Candice Erickson; St. George council member, Susanne Allen; and Tooele City Mayor, Charlie Roberts; to serve for two years on the ULCT board of directors.

League members also elected Taylorsville City Mayor, Janice Auger to serve as second vice president of the organization and joining Piccolo on the executive board is first vice president, Lindon City Mayor Larry Ellertson.

The ULCT board of directors is made up of elected officials from eight geographical regions throughout the state and is responsible for the determination of League policy, adoption of yearly ULCT budgets, and the dispersal of information to members in their board districts.

ULCT is the largest lobbying group for municipal governments in Utah with 240 members.

According to Piccolo as a lobbying group for municipal governments, the groups work with policies around road funds, alcohol taxes and sales taxes.

Accomplishments under the ULCT board direction include the development of a budget database, a capital of government and administration through the cooperative efforts of the 237 municipalities in Utah.

Piccolo says that the League acts as a revenue liaison between the city and the legislature.

"Price City could not afford to hire a consultant to train its personnel on planning and zoning issues, proper meeting procedures and information on powers and duties of elected officials."

All this training is provided by the League and at the various city and town locations.

Piccolo joins other former Price officials as president of the League. These include W. F. Price, Walt Axelgard, J. Bracken Lee, and Bill Welch.

Founded in 1907, the League is a nonpartisan, nonprofit association that seeks to strengthen the quality of government and administration through the cooperative efforts.

Print Page