Print Page

Smith to be honored in tourism hall of fame

Three people, including Carbon County's Kathy Hanna Smith, will be inducted into Utah's Tourism Hall of Fame during the Utah Tourism Conference in Logan next month ( May 12-14 at The Riverwoods Conference Center).

Those selected include Smith Raelene Davis and Red Oelerich.

The inductees who represent Utah's tourism and hospitality industries will be honored during a luncheon on May 13.

"The nominees show the diversity of those working and making a difference in the state's tourism industry," said Leigh von der Esch, managing director of the Utah Office of Tourism, an agency of the Governor's Office of Economic Development. "All three exemplify the Utah Life Elevated(r) brand."

Smith has spent over 20 combined years with the Carbon County Chamber of Commerce and the Carbon County Travel Bureau. Smith has served as a board member, past president, director, and member-at-large with the Chamber. She is currently the Director of the Carbon County Travel Bureau where she is an active member of the Utah Tourism Industry Coalition and the Utah Travel Regions, as well as past president of the Utah Association of Destination Marketing Organizations (UADMO), formerly the Utah Travel Regions, emphasizing her concern for Utah and its communities.

Smith is in her second term as a member of the Price City Council. She also has served as a member of the Utah State Scenic Byway Committee, Zion's Bank Regional Board, Downtown Alive Committee, and Carbon County Fair Board, in addition to numerous local boards and committees.

"Kathy is exemplary on the local level and the dedication over the years to the industry as a tourism organization director, public official, and tourism events and program volunteer," said von der Esch.

Print Page