Print Page

Krompel says no to commission reelection bid

Sun Advocate publisher

When Carbon County Commissioner candidates who win the election in November are inaugurated next January, don't count on seeing present Commissioner Bill Krompel among them.

The reason? He is not running. After over two decades of serving the county as a commissioner, Krompel has decided not to run again.

"Yes that's correct I'm not running for office this time around," said Krompel when questioned about the issue in an E-mail on Tuesday evening. "This is my 24th year of service as a Carbon County Commissioner and even with all these accumulated years of experience and knowledge of county government, I'm still learning."

Consequently a number of new names have been placed in the ring for his seat, and one of those people will be taking his place. Those filing for Krompel's present spot on the commission are Dennis Dooley, Mikel Johnson, David S. Palacios, Jae Potter and Pete Yakovich. Potter and Yakovich are listed as Republicans, while the rest have filed as Democrats.

A second spot on the commission will also be up for election this year, that of county commission/surveyor. That spot was filled by John Jones three years ago when Steve Burge resigned from the commission and he was appointed to the opening.

Jones then ran to fill out the position two years ago. Now the four year seat is up for election again with Jones, Kyle Edwards (both Democrats) and Travis H. Blackburn (Republican) running for the seat.

Another county seat up for contention with the incumbent not filing is the county assessor's position with two new hopefuls ready to replace Nancy Ferderber who is not running again. The two that filed are Julie Patterson Medley and Lisa M. Pierruci, both Democrats.

In the recorders office Vikki Fossat Barnett has been the incumbent and she will be running again with Stacie Romero looking to unseat her. Both of those candidates are Democrats as well.

The Carbon County Sheriff's position is also in contention. James J. Cordova will be running for another four- year term and he is being challenged by fellow Democrat Art Salas. In addition a Republican candidate, Robbins A. Radley will also be challenging the incumbent.

However, three other county positions are going unchallenged as the incumbents have filed to do the jobs once again. Gene Strate (Democrat) is the only person running for Carbon County Attorney, Robert Pero (Democrat) is the only candidate for Clerk/Auditor and Marilyn Graham (Democrat) once again wants to fill the position of county treasurer.

The Carbon County School Board will have two seats open. In school board district four Wayne Woodward will be running unopposed. However in school board district five incumbent Ruby Cordova will face Ed Chavez and Lee McCourt. Chavez and Cordova faced each other four years ago for the same seat and the vote was so close a recount was requested by Chavez.

Another position that will be up for election is the House of Reprentatives seat in the Utah Legislature, District 69, which represents about two thirds of Carbon County. Christine Watkins, the Democratic incumbent has filed to run again and she will face Jerry B. Anderson, a Republican who ran for the same seat before.

In State Representative District 67, which encompasses the western third of Carbon County, Patrick Painter (Republican) of Mona will be running for the seat he has held for a number of years. Opposing him will be fellow Republican Richard Behling (Payson) as well as Democrat Scott Parkin (Santaquin) and Constitutional party candidate Feleni Siufanua (Payson).

On May 1, 2010 both the Republican and Democrats will hold their party conventions at which time some of the multiple person races within one party will be cut down. In some cases, if no one candidate gets more than 70 percent of the vote there could be primaries for certain races held. If a primary is needed for those races it will be held on June 22.

In one instance, however, Carbon School Board district number five will have a primary at its designated polls because it is a non-partisan race with more than two candidates, the number at which the race can be entered on the November ballot.

Print Page