Print Page

East Carbon primary set for Tuesday

Sun Advocate publisher

Only one municipality in Carbon County will have a primary election this year during election season - for mayor and council seats - and East Carbon is gearing up for that day now.

On Sept. 15 polling stations will open at the East Carbon City Hall and the East Carbon Senior Citizens Center. The polls will open at 7 a.m. and will close at 8 p.m. that evening.

The city has four people running for mayor (Orlando LaFontaine, Andy Urbanik, Joyce Caviness and Charles M. Williams) and five people running for two four year council seats (David Fryer, Darlene Kunz, Cheryl McFarland, Marie Owens and Darrell Valdez).

The primary will eliminate one person from the mayor's race and one from the council race.

Residents have had and will continue to have the chance to place early votes through Friday (Sept. 11) at the Carbon County Courthouse in Price. East Carbon has one of their voting judges and one of the county's voting judges on site there from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m. so city residents can vote early.

The vote will prepare the field for the general election which will take place on Nov. 3, when all municipalities in the county will vote for mayorial and council seats.

Print Page