Print Page

East Carbon's primary city elections to take place on Sept 15

Sun Advocate publisher

Only one municipality will have a primary election this year for mayor and council seats and with that election fast approaching on Sept. 15, East Carbon residents can also participate in early voting.

The city has three people running for mayor (Orlando LaFontaine, Andy Urbanik and Joyce Caviness) and five people running for two four year council seats (David Fryer, Darlene Kunz, Cheryl McFarland, Marie Owens and Darrell Valdez).

The primary will eliminate one person from the mayor's race and one from the council race.

According to Bob Pero, the Carbon County Clerk, the early voting will take place on voting machines at the County Courthouse Building. Liz Marquez, East Carbon's recorder says that the polls, which will be manned by a person from

East Carbon and one of the countys voting judges, will be open beginning on Sept. 1 from 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Monday through Friday up through Sept. 11. At that point voting will close until election day.

On election day voting for East Carbon offices will be held at the East Carbon Senior Citizens Center.

Print Page