Print Page

Local candidates file for elections

Emery County Progress publisher

Some city offices in the county saw large numbers of candidates file for office by last Wednesday at 5 p.m. while others only had a few.

Of the cities that had candidates file, some will have to have a primary election on Sept. 15 to get the field down to two candidates in some of the offices and three in others.

The largest number of filings took place in East Carbon City where a total of three candidates filed for mayor and five for two four years seats on the city council. For mayor those that filed included present mayor Orlando LaFontaine, Joyce Caviness, and Charles M. Williams. For the four year council seats (two available) David R. Fryer, Darlene Ann Kuhns, Cheryl A. McFarland, Marie J. Owens and Darrell Valdez put their names in the ring. For two year seat on the council Gabriel K. Hunt and James Wayman placed their names in contention.

In Sunnyside Mayor Bruce Andrews will not be running for another term. The voters will have the choice of Douglas Parsons and Tracy Lee Stratton for mayor of their town for the next four years. For the four year city coucil seat Tony Riffle is running and for the two year seat Nola Porter has put her name in.

In Helper, Mayor Mike Dalpaiz has passed on trying to fill another term. So this time the city will be voting between two candidates that are presently members of the city council, Dean Armstrong and Kirk E. Mascaro. For the two four year seats on the council Gary Harwood, Orlando Ochoa and Chris F. Pugliese will be running. The two two year seats also have three candidates vying for positions including Robert Bradley, Donald L. Mortensen and Brandon T. Wise.

In Wellington, Mayor Karl Houskeeper is not running again. This time around residents will be able to choose between Ben Blackburn and Ed Chavez, Jr. for that position. On the council there are two four year seats available with five candidates looking to serve. Those that filed include Amber Adair, Johnathan B. Arriola, Rory Bradley, Ray Reddington and Kirt Tatton.

Of all the cities Price had the fewest candidates file; in fact so few that all the candidates will serve after the election. Mayor Joe Piccolo will run unopposed as will two four year candidates for the city council, Kathy Hanna Smith and Jeane McEvoy.

The Price River Water Improvement District will also be filling one at large county board seat. Those that filed include incumbent Keith Cox and challenger Tom Matthews.

Print Page