Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 7, 2015
home newssports feature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » March 21, 2006 » Local News » Candidates challenge 2006 re-election bids filed by feder...
Published 3,487 days ago

Candidates challenge 2006 re-election bids filed by federal, local incumbents

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Filings for candidates running for elected offices at the local level in the Carbon area were relatively light when the county clerk's office closed last Friday.

But filings at the federal level turned out to be heavy for candidates vying for the November 2006 election ballot.

On an interesting note, incumbent United States Sen. Orrin Hatch will face opposition from a fellow Republican in the primary election along with the challenges filed by Democratic and third party candidates.

Four candidates joined Hatch in filing as Republicans in the contest for the U.S. Senate seat.

The Republican candidates filing against Hatch include Lawrence Ray Topham and Michael T. Ridgeway, both of Salt Lake, Ronald H. Levine of Midvale and Brian E. Jenkins of Saratoga Springs.

The only Democrat filing a bid for the seat is Pete Ashdown of Salt Lake.

The other candidates challeging Hatch's re-election bid to the U.S. Senate include Scott N. Bradley of Logan, Constitution Party; Julian Hatch of Boulder, Desert Greens Party; Joseph Lebonte of Provo and Roger I. Price of Huntsville, Personal Choice Party; and Dave Snarr Seely of St. George, Libertarian Party.

In the federal congressional district three, Democrat Jim Matheson has served two terms and has filed for re-election to the U.S. House of Representatives seat.

Matheson is running unopposed within the Democratic Party.

However, Matheson will face opposition from three Republican candidates.

Filing before the Friday deadline were Republicans LaVar Christensen of Draper, Kris Lounsbury of St. George and Joe Tucker of Lehi.

Additional opposition to the Matheson's re-election bid comes from Bob Brister of Salt Lake, Green Party of Utah; Austin Sherwood Lent of St. George, Libertarian Party; and David W. Perry of Sandy, Constitution Party.

At the state level, neither District 67 Rep. Patrick Painter of Nephi nor District 69 Rep.Brad King face opposition on the November 2006 election ballot.

Since the Sun Advocate reported filings at the county level on March 9, two candidates have joined the local races.

For the commissioner/surveyor position, A. Ward Pierce of Price has filed to run against incumbent Steven Burge.

Two-decade veteran incumbent William Krompel will face Price resident Gerald Lloyd in the county commissioner race.

One other county office will have a challenger on the ballot running against an incumbent.

Vikki Barnett has filed to compete against Sharon Murdock for the recorder's office.

Sheriff James Cordova, treasurer Marilyn Graham, assessor Nancy Ferderber, clerk/auditor Robert Pero and county attorney Gene Strate are all unopposed for the elected positions.

Judge Elayne Storrs will appear on the ballot in November for a retention vote.

The Carbon Board of Education has two seats open in 2006.

Ruby Cordova has filed to run against Ed Chavez Jr. in district five. Wayne E. Woodward will be unopposed in district four.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Local News  
March 21, 2006
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us