Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 8, 2015
home newssports feature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » June 7, 2005 » Local News » Crystal Apple Awards
Published 3,775 days ago

Crystal Apple Awards

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Lisa Behling, Southeastern Utah Teacher-of-the-Year, Ferron Elementary, Lynda Nelson - Emery County Teacher-of-the-Year, Cottonwood Elementary, Madelaine Nyffeler - Carbon County,Teacher-of-the-Year, Mont Harmon Junior High.

Next to parents, teachers have the greatest impact on young minds. To recognize their efforts, a crowd of people from all over Carbon and Emery counties joined Emery Telcom recently in Price, for the second annual Crystal Apple Awards Teacher-of-the-Year presentation.

"This year's turn out was even larger than last year's," said Randy Jensen, member of Emery Telcom board of directors. "We're glad to see so many people join us in this effort to encourage excellence in education."

The winners of the Crystal Apple Awards are as follows:

Lisa Behling - Overall Southeastern Utah Teacher-of-the-Year, Ferron Elementary, Ferron.

Madelaine Nyffeler - Carbon County Teacher-of-the-Year, Mont Harmon Junior High, Price.

Lynda Nelson - Emery County Teacher-of-the-Year, Cottonwood Elementary, Orangeville.

Misty Matthews - Carbon County Runner Up, Pinnacle Canyon Academy, Carbonville.

Jerel Lofley - Emery County Runner Up, Cleveland Elementary, Cleveland.

This year, KOAL radio co-sponsored Crystal Apple Award by publicizing the event. KOAL radio announcer Keith Mason acted as the Master of Ceremony while station owner Tom Anderson offered some remarks on the importance educators have in shaping young minds.

Markette Tanner helps Dr. Thomas with his talk.

Dr. Ryan Thomas, president of the College of Eastern Utah delivered the keynote address.

This year, there were 12 nominees entered by members of the community. They include, James Keele from Emery High School, Julie Huntington from Cottonwood Elementary, Jodi Sitterud from Castle Heights Elementary, Karen Bosone from Sally Mauro Elementary, and Mark Stuckenschneider, Steve Lasslo and Paula Wells from Pinnacle Canyon Academy.

All of the nominees were recognized and given a certificate and commemorative pen and pencil sets. The winners received, in addition to the Crystal Apple Award, $500 for the title of Southeastern Utah Teacher-of-the-Year, and $200 for the Carbon County and Emery County Teacher-of-the-Year titles.

Emery Telcom will also be nominating Lisa Behling to the national Rural Teacher-of-the-Year Award organized by the Foundation for Rural Education and Development. The winner of that nomination will receive a $5,000 technology grant.

Emery Telcom is one of Utah's leading and fastest growing providers of telecommunication services. Based in Orangeville, Emery Telcom was formed as a cooperative in 1950 and has since earned industry-wide recognition for its excellence.

The telecommunications company serves thousands of local telephone customers in Hanksville, and throughout communities in Carbon and Emery Counties. In addition, the company provides Internet access and advanced telecommunications services such as Caller ID and Voice Mail.

Through its subsidiary companies, Emery Telcom offers long-distance service, DSL high-speed digital Internet connection, web design and hosting, and 24-hour call center operations.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Local News  
June 7, 2005
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us