Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 9, 2015
home newssports feature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » May 27, 2004 » Local News » Lemon among top educators honored with Crystal Apple Award
Published 4,152 days ago

Lemon among top educators honored with Crystal Apple Award

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Nominees for the Crystal Apple award include Diane Carter, Jerel Lofley, Maurine Tanner, Jessica Jenkins, Julia Vincent, Jody Carter, Lori Labrum, Katheryn Lemon, and Madelei Thompson.

Three local Carbon county teachers were among the recent educators honored with Crystal Apple awards presented by Emery Telcom. Julia Vincent, Creekview Elementary; Katheryn Lemon, East Carbon high School; and Maurine Tanner, Sally Mauro Elementary, were selected for their hard work and dedication.

The first annual Crystal Apple Award Ceremony, held in mid-May, was sponsored by Emery Telcom because of their strong commitment to education in Emery and Carbon county.

Rep. Jim Matheson and Kathy Petersen were the guest speakers. Matheson said everyone has a story of a teacher and he remembered Shauna Wild, who taught the sixth grade and helped to direct him in a positive way.

"The best investment we can make is in educating our kids," said Matheson.

Petersen, principal at Santa Clara Elementary and former Ferron Elementary principal spoke of the challenges of rural educators. She stressed the fact that there are solutions for rural educators including support and partnerships with families, teachers and businesses. She described rural communities as places with traditions and the can-do attitude. Places where people help each other and care about each other.

"Working together, many goals can be met," she said.

Randy Jensen introduced the nominees and directed comments about each of them to the audience.

First he spoke about Julia Vincent, a special education instructor from Creekview Elementary,

"She works extra hours and teaches to the abilities of her students," he said.

Of Maurine Tanner, kindergarten teacher from Sally Mauro Elementary, he stated: "She never gives up on students and works hard to see them succeed."

Another nominee was Katheryn Lemon, English, drama and AP instructor at Carbon High School.

"She does not give up and she works hard beside her students to see that they are successful."

The Carbon winner, Katheryn Lemon was announced first. Jensen said, "She is gentle, kind and sensitive to personal needs, she always goes beyond the call of duty."

The Emery county winner was Lori Labrum, third grade teacher from Cottonwood elementary.

Jessica Jenkins, Green River was the overall winner and announced Southeastern Utah Teach of the Year.

Winners received a crystal apple award and a cash prize to be used in their classrooms.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Local News  
May 27, 2004
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us