Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 13, 2015
home newssports feature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » March 21, 2002 » Local News » Candidates file for election
Published 4,954 days ago

Candidates file for election

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

The filing period for the 2002 elections concluded March 18 and two county commissioners face challenges not only from Republican candidates, but fellow Democrats.

Incumbent Tom Matthews will battle candidates Steven Burge, Ralph Hardman and Leanna Axelgard for the Carbon County Democratic Party's nomination to the November election ballot.

Republican Kimball Johnson also filed a bid to unseat Matthews and serve in the commissioner/surveyor position on county government.

Democrats Dave Guymon and John Serfustini will attempt to block incumubent Commissioner Bill Krompel's bid for the party's nomination to the November ballot.

Republican William Palmer has also thrown his hat into the race against Krompel for the county commissioner's office.

No candidates will oppose the 2002 re-election campaigns launched by Carbon County Attorney Gene Strate, Sheriff James Cordova, clerk/auditor Robert Pero, treasurer Marilyn Graham, assessor Nancy Ferderber and recorder Sharon Murdock.

In the Carbon County School Board races, incumbent Michael Magliocco will square off against District 4 election hopeful Boyd Bell at the November polls.

Debbi Blackburn and Joni Hackwell will attempt to unseat Samuel Chiara for the District 2 position, while current Carbon County Board of Education member Jim Leonard will appear on the November election ballot unopposed.

At the state level, Republican DeLamar Gibbons of Blanding will compete against Carbon County incumbent Brad King to secure the top number of votes and occupy the District 69 position at the Utah House of Representatives.

With last year's redistricting , one-third of Carbon County's population is encompassed by Utah House District 67.

The incumbent currently serving in the Utah House for District 67 is Darin Peterson of Nephi, located in Juab County.

The Utah State Legislature seat basically represents the area of Carbon County west of the Price city limit line.

Peterson's bid for re-election to the Utah House of Representatives will be opposed by only one candidate, Steve Thomas, a Libertarian from Santaquin.

Six candidates filed to serve in the District 4 seat on the Utah Board of Education, including Judy Mainord of Price.

Roger Swenson of Orange-ville, Lynn Snow of Roosevelt, Earl McCain of Vernal, Mark Maryboy of Montezuma Creek and Valda Massey of Vernal will attempt to block Mainord's quest for the state education board position.

At the federal level, 11 Republicans will scramble for the party's nomination to fight against Salt Lake Democrat Jim Matheson's re-election to Utah's District 2 seat on the United States House of Representatives.

The Republican congressional candidates include Gary Stephens of Murray, David Smith of Alpine, Winston Wilkinson of Sandy, Jay Jorgensen of Salt Lake City, Mark Crockett of Salt Lake City, John Swallow of Sandy, Merrill Cook of Salt Lake City, Tim Bridgewa-ter of American Fork, Richard Snelgrove of Salt Lake City, Carrie Towner of Draper and Steve Harmsen of Salt Lake City.

In addition to the Republican nominee, Matheson will compete for the November congressional election vote with Libertarian Ron Copier of Salt Lake City and Green Party hopeful Patrick Diehl of Escalante.

Along with the partisan and non-partisan races, Carbon County Justice Court's Elayne Storrs, four 7th District judges and five state appellate adjudicators will appear on the November ballot for retention elections.

Carbon County residents will cast retention votes for Judge Bruce K. Halliday, Judge Scott N. Johansen, Judge Mary L. Manley and Judge Lyle R. Anderson from the 7th District. Judge Johansen and Manley serve primarily on the juvenile bench, while Judge Halliday and Judge Anderson preside over matters processed through the district court.

Utah Court of Appeals judges listed on the retention ballot will include Gregory Orme, Norman Jackson, Judith Billings and James Davis.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Local News  
March 21, 2002
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us