Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 9, 2015
home news sportsfeature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » June 19, 2003 » Sports » Local girls soccer team places at annual summer games
Published 4,495 days ago

Local girls soccer team places at annual summer games

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Sports writer

Samantha Smith from the Carbon County Raptors girls soccer team rushes for control of the ball against an opponent during the Utah Summer Games last week. The local U12 team played well and captured the bronze medal at the event. This was the third consecutive summer games competition the team has participated in.

Carbon County was well represented at the Utah Summer Games last weekend. Two of the three local girls soccer teams attended the event and both played quite well.

The U14 and the U12 Raptor teams were among the 178 squads that attended the annual statewide competition.

According to this year's local coaches, the U14 team did quite well and has made vast improvements over the course of the year.

The U12 team did exceptionally well as they played their way to a bronze medal.

On their way to a third place finish, the Carbon County team competed against teams from Box Elder, Ogden and Cedar City.

During the medal game, the girls entered the competition filled with excitement and anticipation.

The girls remained calm however, and got the job done as they handed Cedar City a 2-1 loss. This would seal the bronze medal finish for the talented Raptor team.

As the girls competed, the coaches explained that the parents in the stands sat on the edge of their seats and were more nervous and excited than the team itself. The hard work and dedication had finally paid off.

Members of the bronze medal team include Felicia Olmos, Samantha Smith, Patricia Smith, Samantha Olson, Kelsey Tatton, Hannah Downard, April Milano, Cassandra Cunningham, MeLisa King, Ashlyn Mulford, Brittany McKibben, Anneliese Houghton, Ariel Dye, Britni Greenwood and Janessa Woodward.

This year's squad was lead by coaches, Gary McKibben and Chad Lopez.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

June 19, 2003
Recent Sports
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us