Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 9, 2015
home newssports feature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » November 20, 2012 » Carbon County News » Regents act to curb excess credits
Published 1,053 days ago

Regents act to curb excess credits

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

At its meeting Friday, the Utah State Board of Regents approved a change to its tuition policy with the intent of increasing the number of students who complete their college education in a timely manner.

Current policy allows for a tuition surcharge of double the current year's tuition rate when students accumulate credit hours in excess of 135 percent of the number needed to graduate.

The change reduces the threshold to 125 percent. The purpose of the excess credit hours policy is to discourage students from accumulating credit hours beyond those needed to graduate without completing a course of study leading to a degree. The policy change is in response to a legislative audit completed in 2011, which found that the existing excess credit hour policy is vague and seldom applied. The proposed revision is intended to accomplish the following:

• Require institutions to develop a process for notifying students that the surcharge may be implemented when they exceed 125% of the credits needed to graduate.

•Encourage students to efficiently complete their program of study.

• Clarify how the number of credit hours needed for graduation is determined.

"Excess credit hours is not a problem for the vast majority of students," noted Commissioner of Higher Education Dave Buhler. "However, the Board does want to encourage students to focus their efforts and decide on a major as soon as is practical and then move toward that goal."

This policy change has been undertaken with the goal of increasing the number of students who complete their degrees and certificates in a timely manner. This increase is essential in order for Utah to reach its goal of having 66 percent of adults hold a higher education credential by the year 2020.

The policy allows for the potential of increased credit hours without the application of the surcharge, if required by a particular course of study, for double majors, dual degrees, additional minors, second bachelor's degrees, concurrent enrollment, advanced placement, exam credit, and employment required credits.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Carbon County News  
November 20, 2012
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us