Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 4, 2015
home newssports feature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » April 28, 2011 » Carbon County News » Apples for Teachers winner for March 2011
Published 1,620 days ago

Apples for Teachers winner for March 2011

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Sarah Rasmussen, a kindergarten teacher at Wellington Elementary, was nominated for an outstanding teacher award in the 2011 Apples For Teachers. Michelle Barker, whose daughter is in her class, wrote the winning nomination. Barker wrote, "She goes up and beyond what is needed. If she needs something for the kids, she uses her own money to buy it. She is always trying to find new and fun ways to teach the kids. She challenges the kids to do their best at everything. If there is a student struggling with a concept she takes the extra time to help them. I know my daughter will leave there more than ready for first grade." Pictured front row is Jennifer Ottley-KUSA, principal Melissa Hamilton from Wellington Elementary-guest, Sarah Rasmussen-teacher of the month, Dawn Stowe-KUSA, Breanna Lopen-SOS, and Diana Root-Sun Advocate. Center row Jesse Ward and David Palacios-Savage, Jessica Basso-KUSA, Tauna Bruno-SOS, Helen Paletta-Savage, Emily Cox and Karin Odendahl-SOS, Jessica Adams-In House Insurance, Kathy Hanna-Smith and Jennifer Tryon-KUSA. Back row, Larry McKinnon and Vickie Shreve-Bucyrus, and Amy Christiansen-In House Insurance. KUSA and the participating sponsors will be honoring local teachers from Carbon and Emery County in their second annual Apples for Teachers 2011. Many teachers go above and beyond the call of educating, and play an important part in forming the character and ethics of the children they are teaching. Every month KUSA will choose one outstanding teacher and treat them to lunch at Farlaino's Cafe, where they will be presented with the nomination letter and plaque. At the end of the school year, one of the monthly winners will be chosen as "Teacher of the Year" and will be awarded with a special luncheon and a new Apple laptop. Nominations can be sent to

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Article Photos  
Browse / enlarge – (1 total)
Print photo(s) with article
Get photo reprints on CD
NOTE: To print only the article and included photos, use the print photo(s) with article link above.
Local News  
April 28, 2011
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us