Classifieds Business Directory Jobs Real Estate Autos Legal Notices ePubs Subscribe Archives
Today is October 10, 2015
home newssports feature opinion fyi society obits multimedia

Front Page » September 30, 2008 » Carbon County News » County details voting criteria for multiple upcoming elec...
Published 2,566 days ago

County details voting criteria for multiple upcoming elections

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Sun Advocate editor

Carbon residents have until Oct. 20 to register in person at the county clerk's office to vote in the upcoming local, state and presidential elections.

The deadline for residents to complete the voter registration process by mail or at state agencies, including the department of workforce services, the division of motor vehicles and the public health district, falls on Oct. 6.

All residents who failed to vote in the last two general elections or who have moved, changed names or turned 18 years of age must complete the mandatory registration process in order to cast ballots at the November polls, explained deputy county clerk Alexis Horsley during a recent interview.

In order to complete the registration process, people must submit proof that they have resided in Utah for a minimum of the last 30 days and provide a valid drivers license or photo identification card containing current addresses, explained the deputy county clerk.

All mailed voter registration forms must be postmarked by the designated Oct. 6 deadline date.

Residents who are in compliance with the registration criteria will be eligible to cast ballots during the early voting period from Oct. 21 to Oct. 31 at the county courthouse on Main Street in Price. The early voting polls will be open Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. People must present valid identification prior before they will be allowed to vote.

•In addition to the United States presidential races, Carbon County voters will cast ballots for political candidates competing in the following local, state and federal general elections at the Nov. 4 polls:

Carbon County commission/surveyor office - recently appointed incumbent John Jones of Helper, Democratic Party; and challenger Gerald Lloyd of Price, Republican Party.

Carbon County commissioner - incumbent Michael Milovich of Price, Democratic Party; and challenger Jae Potter of Price, Republican Party.

Utah Senate District 27 - Brad King of Price, Democratic Party; David Hinkins of Orangeville, Republican Party; and Robert Armstrong of Spanish Fork, Constitutional Party.

Utah House of Representatives District 67 - incumbent Patrick Painter of Mona, Republican Party, uncontested.

Utah House of Representatives District 69 - Christine Watkins of Price, Democratic Party; and Jerry Anderson of Price, Republican Party.

U.S. House of Representatives District 22 - incumbent Congressman Jim Matheson, Democratic Party; challenger Mathew Arndt, Libertarian Party; challenger Bill Dew, Republican Party; and challenger Dennis Emery, Constitutional Party.

•Governor - incumbent Jon Huntsman, Republican Party; challenger Dell Schanze, Libertarian Party; and challenger Bob Springmeyer, Democratic Party.

•Lieutenant governor - incumbent Gary Herbert, Republican Party; challenger Joey Hobbs, Libertarian Party; and challenger Josie Valdez, Democratic Party.

•Attorney general - incumbent Mark Shurtleff, Republican Party; challenger Jean Welch Hill, Democratic Party; and challenger Andrew McCullough, Libertarian Party.

•State treasurer - incumbent Richard Ellis of Salt Lake City, Republican Party; and challenger Dick Clark of Salt Lake City, Democratic Party.

•State auditor - Auston Johnson, Republican Party; Clare Collard, Democratic Party; Richard Procter, Constitution Party; and Mike Stoddard, Libertarian Party.

•Local non-partisan elections will include:

Carbon School District one - Barry Deeter, uncontested, Helper.

Carbon School District two - Debra Blackburn, Price; and Maurine Tanner, Helper.

Carbon School District three - Jeffrey Richens, uncontested, Price.

•Local adjudicators facing retention elections on the Nov. 4 ballot will include Judge Scott N. Johansen of the 7th District Juvenile Court, Judge Mary L. Manley of the 7th District Juvenile Court and Judge Lyle R. Anderson of the 7th District Court.

Print PageEmail PageShareGet Reprints

Top of Page

Article Photos  
Browse / enlarge – (2 total)
Print photo(s) with article
Get photo reprints on CD
NOTE: To print only the article and included photos, use the print photo(s) with article link above.
Carbon County News  
September 30, 2008
Recent Local News
Quick Links
Subscribe via RSS
Related Articles  
Related Stories

Best viewed with Firefox
Get Firefox

© Sun Advocate, 2000-2013. All rights reserved. All material found on this website, unless otherwise specified, is copyright and may not be reproduced without the explicit written permission from the publisher of the Sun Advocate.
Legal Notices & Terms of Use    Privacy Policy    Advertising Info    FAQ    Contact Us
  RSS Feeds    News on Your Site    Staff Information    Submitting Content    About Us